Skip to main content

Fellows of the AAS

We recognise excellence through the election of Fellows and Affiliates and science prizes to honour outstanding scientists

One of the core mandates of The African Academy of Sciences (The AAS) is to recognise excellence and it does this is by electing scholars who have excelled in their fields of expertise as its members. The AAS Fellowship comprises individuals who have reached the highest level of excellence in their field of expertise and have made contributions to the advancement of the field on the African continent. Fellows of The AAS are elected based on their achievements that include their publication record, innovations, leadership roles and contribution to society. Election into The AAS Fellowship is done through a rigorous review process.

Disciplines of the AAS


Meet the Team

Team Member
Grace Mwaura Fellows and Affiliates Manager
Team Member
Olivia Osula Programme Officer, AAS Membership


Categories of Fellows

Although the term “Fellow” is used generally to refer to all those elected into The AAS Fellowship, the Fellowship has three categories.

Fellows who are elected from among active African scientists residing in Africa or elsewhere and who have attained the highest international standards and/or who have made significant contributions to the development and application of science, technology and innovation in Africa.

Associate fellows who are elected from among active and outstanding non-African scientists residing elsewhere or in Africa and who have made significant contributions to the development of researchers, as well as the development of science, technology and innovation in Africa.

Non-African scientists who have taken citizenship of an African nation and Africa-born scientists who may have taken citizenship outside Africa will be considered under the category, ‘Fellows’.

Honorary fellows who are elected from amongst persons of eminence who have made significant contribution to the objectives of the Academy.

  • Recognition of their outstanding contribution to development on the continent
  • The honour of being elected into a continental academy and displaying the prestigious title Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (FAAS) after their name and/or signature.
  • Form the General Assembly (GA), the highest and ultimate decision-making governance organ of The AAS to which the Governing Council (GC) is responsible. The GC is the Policy organ of the Academy.
  • Enable The AAS to achieve its core mandates of Recognising Excellence; Implementing Science, Technology and Innovation Programmes and providing Advisory and Think Tank functions helping to develop strategies that promote science in Africa and that are relevant to the continent.
  • Lead in policy formulation strategies and engage with governments and policy makers towards the promotion of Science, Technology and Innovation on the continent.
  • Serve in various The AAS working groups and committees to oversee the activities of the secretariat
  • Serve as expert reviewers, speakers, steering committee and GC sub-committee members, GC members for The AAS activities and those of its partner organisations.
  • Take part in the recruitment of Fellows by identifying and nominating deserving scholars to The AAS Fellowship, taking part in the voting process, and assisting the secretariat to maintain high standards in the recruitment process.
  • Fellows are required to pay membership fees comprising a modest joining fee ($100) and subsequent annual subscription fee ($50).
  • It is expected that every Fellow should nominate at least one woman for Fellowship, and all women Fellows are encouraged to nominate two women.

There is no age limit and candidates may be elected from all disciplines. The AAS has clustered the various disciplines into ten clusters:

  • Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences
  • Biosciences
  • Chemical Sciences
  • Cultural Sciences Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Engineering Technology and Applied Sciences
  • Geological; Environmental; Earth and Space Sciences
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Medical and Health Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Policy Sciences

To be considered for nomination, candidates for The AAS Fellowship must:

  • Have obtained a PhD or equivalent qualification no less than 10 years before the year of nomination and have outstanding post qualification academic achievements
  • Demonstrate contributions that they have made to Africa. Candidates for Associate Fellowship must, in addition, demonstrate supervision of several African masters and doctoral students and published papers based on research in Africa with a substantial number of the African research papers having African first authors.
  • Candidates must be individuals who are currently active and if not, it should be stated on the form, what contribution they would make to be considered as members of The AAS.
  • Demonstrate outstanding scientific excellence and the nominee's work must stand out in his or her discipline on the African continent
  • Demonstrate outstanding scientific leadership and citizenship and, if applicable, contribution to policy
  • Demonstrate evidence of recognition by their peers in the field such as active peer review of journal articles, membership of scientific advisory committees, invited lectures, awards, prizes, membership in other academies or professional bodies
  • Publish with publishers of high reputation and have high impact factor in scientific journals of high calibre with a Scopus H-index of 20 or higher. Have at least one journal article with 100 or more citations. This might not apply to non-science disciplines.
  • Have first author position in a substantial number of publications